05
Sep
08

Cleaning Up and Moving Toward Sanity

6:30am found me up, coffeed, and organizing the house.  Sam and I are equally chronic trail-leavers: cause for me to go from room to room asking, “Does this belong here?  Where does this belong?  Why the hell did I put this here?”  International power adapters don’t belong in a woven box with cuff links, although when I put them there, it seemed perfectly logical because the box was just the right size.  After re-placing about a dozen things, (feeling not unlike Wall-E) the questions and answers became a meditation, and I thought about the additional trouble I caused myself by just doing what I’d always done, without changing my behavior.

My Grandfather was right, all those times.  Put things where they belong, and you’ll always know where to find them.  To help us, he hung all of the tools on a pegboard in the garage, and spray painted them in place so that we’d know what went where, by its silhouette.

“The definition of insanity is doing the same thing again and again, and expecting a different result,” said somebody.  We’re really not sure who.  Nonetheless, as a kid, I’d begin rearranging my messy room by putting the mess on a bedspread in the middle of the floor, picking it up from the corners like a sack, and moving it around with the furniture.  Once the furniture was in place, THEN I’d clean it up.  Luckily, I don’t do that anymore.  Joe used to say that my stacks looked like beaver dams.  Sam notes all the time that I like to put things in containers, stack the containers, and then tackle them (if ever) one at a time.  It’s insanity, and it’s time to change, and even though old habits die hard, I feel saner already.

It’s kind of like the this country.  (I just can’t help myself.)  How many times will people sign up for this old, world-policing, war and fear mongering, progress-averse stance?  When conventioneers cheered Bush on the screen at the convention the other night, why were they cheering?  Had they been living in the same country that I have been for the last eight years?  Pissing on the Constitution and the Geneva Convention?  Record deficit?  Endless war?  Thousands of dead soldiers?  Four-dollar gas?  “Drill, baby, drill?”  Didn’t any of you people see Wall-E?

2 Responses to “Cleaning Up and Moving Toward Sanity”


  1. 1 Heidi
    Friday, September 5, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Bronson, Thank you for sharing this. I too have been trying to break the definition of insanity.
    Heidi

  2. 2 Jonathan
    Saturday, September 6, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Sam once gave me a book that, at the risk of sounding far too dramatic, changed my life: Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui. Truthfully, if I saw that title in the book store, and wouldn’t even slow down to give it a second look. OK–I’d slow down, read the title again, and then start to giggle at how ridiculously New Age-y it sounded.

    But, it was an amazing read, and it got me to clean up and start to get organized, and I swear the energy in the house just felt better (whatever the hell that means). Sometimes it almost feels like therapy to clean out a closet from top to bottom. I know where you are coming from, B. And yeah, those storage containers are from the devil.

    “Drill, baby, drill”? I hate to say it, but I’m sick of hearing the shouts of “yewwww esssss ayyyy yewwwww essss ayyy” like it was some international soccer match. I love my country but, damn, that’s just getting out of hand.


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 523,307

