25
Aug
08

The Democratic National Convention

I’m watching the beginning of the DNC, and it is gloriously black. Sure, there are people in attendance who aren’t black, and – God bless them – they’re all bad dancers, but they’re there to shake it for the DNC and national television, for better or worse. Motown is alive in Denver tonight, and a little girl just belted out Alicia Keys “No One” with talent and gusto impossibly contained by her tiny teenage frame. What a breath of fresh air, if for no other reason than the fact that white people can be some of the most boring MFs on the planet, especially when we’re part of a three-day sales job. Besides, America doesn’t look that white and tight-assed anymore, and it’s about time we see her in every color.

America loves minorities: black, asian, latino, and even LGBT (a pan-cultural minority), just as long as they entertain, houseclean, and coif, while we continue being discriminated against or just plain ignored. Being able to legally marry Sam is one of the greatest moments of my life, and even though our marriage is said to be ex post facto, or grandfathered in the event of a constitutional amendment, there still looms a keen sense that half of those around me would like to revoke that basic right.

A lesbian friend of mine just called to ask me what “casar se=hombre+mujer” means (marriage = man + woman). It was on the bumper of a Mexican man’s car. Imagine his outrage if he were to read a bumper sticker that said, “un inmigrante ilegal es un criminal” (an illegal immigrant is a criminal). Funny how one group that is discriminated against will so quickly discriminate against another. It’s a scene from Crash waiting to happen, again and again, even in Los Angeles. If Los Angeles can’t make peace within itself, how will the country succeed?

I fear that we are ultimately too racist as a country to elect Barack Obama president. I pray – and I seldom pray – that I’m wrong, but if I’m not, 2008 is the year people of color achieved a level of true near-equality that is unprecedented. We LGBTs have as well. If it were to all to go to hell in a Republican-manufactured hand basket tomorrow, we will at least have a new watermark, below which, God willing, we don’t have to fall again.

2 Responses to “The Democratic National Convention”


  1. 1 Jonathan
    Tuesday, August 26, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Amazing to me, though, that Obama does not hesitate to tell the world that he, too, considers marriage the union of one man and one woman. I know–almost every Democratic contender held the same view. Somehow, I expect a whole hell of a lot more out of Democrats, and, perhaps, I expected even more out of Obama. Silly me.

    Maybe, just maybe, we should demand more. Maybe the LGBT vote shouldn’t be a given for any one political party.
    But we won’t do that, will we? We know that the alternative just absolutely sucks. We know that Obama might not afford us equal rights, but that McCain really wants to screw us over. And, more importantly, there are 2 or 3 Supreme Court nominations that are in the balance.

    Once again, I’m forced to vote for the lesser of two evils. I hate that.

    He’s got my vote. He just doesn’t have my vote with gusto. He’ll get that when he supports me, and the rest of the LGBT community, with marriage rights.

    I understand where you are coming from, Bronson. I so want to have that same sense of excitement–I just can’t find it. I hope that changes.

    AS always, a great post.

    NO ON PROPOSITION 8!

  2. 2 Bryan P.
    Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    I totally agree with you about the girl singing Alicia Keys. I watched her that night and I couldn’t believe it was her singing it, incredible.


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 527,076

