30
Jul
08

Fresh Vegetables & Our Urban Homestead

About six weeks ago, Sam and I cleared a sunny, un-grassed space in the yard formerly reserved for a tangle of hose and a shortcut to the garage, turning it into our first vegetable garden. My Grandmother would call it a Victory Garden; that’s the term I grew up with. Well, between the war, the economy, and the record deficit Bush is leaving us with, we could use a little homegrown victory.

We started by making mounded rows 8″-10″ high, and we planted eggplant, squash, cucumber, and watermelon. On the sides, unmounded, we planted a towering basil, a mint, and a few peppers.

The watermelon is sprawling and blooming, but the squash has sprung to the lead and, if the beautiful gamboge blossoms are an indication, we should be swimming in it in no time. In fact, we expect the first taste on Saturday.

Makes us see the rest of the yard in a whole new light. We have a good sized yard, especially for L.A., and we could probably eat for a season or two on what we could grow here. And there’s space for a chicken coop. Besides, who needs a sprawling green lawn – watered and maintained for the neighbors, essentially? I’d rather be the guys in the big red house with the farm.

5 Responses to “Fresh Vegetables & Our Urban Homestead”


  1. 1 waltzinexile
    Tuesday, July 29, 2008 at 6:12 am

    Wow, I’m impressed. Here I am in the heartland with nary a vegetable in sight! I have an idea — how about you start canning/preserving your bounty and you can ship it to me (I’ll pay, of course.) Any chance you could get some avocados in….?

  2. 2 Jake
    Tuesday, July 29, 2008 at 9:00 am

    Congratulations on the new garden! It’s got to be awesome to see growing what you & Sam have worked to make. Will you share pictures on the blog? I’d love to plant a nice garden and see it grow, but then I need a yard, a house, and a man to help me 🙂 One day, that will happen. I have a friend here in the city (Seattle), and we grew 3 tomato plants on his apt deck, and now they’re 6 feet tall. I helped pick them out, so it’s been fun to see the results of our work. Looking forward to the pictures!

  3. Tuesday, July 29, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Beware the mint! You will need to be vigilant in controlling it’s spread.

  4. Tuesday, July 29, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Pretty soon I’ll have to come over “seekin'” for vegetables! You, indeed, are
    your great-grandmother’s great grand-son! Save us, Miss Davis!
    xoxomom

  5. 5 Jake
    Wednesday, July 30, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Great pictures of the garden. So where’s the picture of you and Sam in your best American Gothic pose?


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 520,879

