23
Jul
08

A House Boy?

I had a dream last night that Sam turned to me and said, “I think we should find a houseboy.”

“Really?” I was incredulous, because it was one of those more-real-than-reality dreams and I couldn’t believe my ears. “You’re not serious.”

His trademark ever-sensible tone told me he was serious. “Think of the money we pay Dora every week. Now think of the fact that we have two extra bedrooms. Now think about the dogs having a walk every day, and everything being (said with all the reverence Virgos give this word) *clean*… every day.”

Dream Sam had a point.

I’m reading Tim Ferriss’ book right now, and it sounds like something he’d totally go along with. Houseboys were a staple on military bases, and I realize that doesn’t exactly go far in recommending it, but it wasn’t slavery. The houseboys were, happy, well-treated and well-paid. It’s just outsourcing more of the little mundane tasks we’d rather not be burdened with, without having to go out of pocket. I say ‘more’ because Sam and I have recently enlisted some part-time help from a former employee of HERO Magazine, London Matthews. London follows up on stuff for us, but there’s no way he’d clean up after us. I bet London’s happy he doesn’t need a place to live.

Sam and I are pretty clean, and if our little trails of shoes and mail were tended to daily, it would be a piece of cake for the right, smart, enterprising guy – other than us.

So how would it go, this ad for a house boy? Hypothetically, of course.

YOU: 18-25, male, student or self-employed, responsible with excellent references, reliable transportation, and a green sensibility, in search of living arrangement in exchange for light daily housework. Cooking skills a definite plus. No strange uniforms, no humiliation, no sex. You’re just a regular guy with domestic skills and some time, looking for a nice place to live.

US: Happily married male couple, 33 and 40, with two very good dogs, in beautiful 1,600 sf house just north of Downtown LA, convenient to LA and Pasadena via the 110.

Serious inquiries only.

Candidates will be screened thoroughly (and blogged about). To be continued.

2 Responses to “A House Boy?”


  1. 1 waltzinexile
    Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    You have goat nanny envy, don’t you…. LOL

  2. Wednesday, July 23, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    I’ve always wanted to visit California…!


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 520,664

