23
Jun
08

We’ve Lost Howard Brandy

Mom was Miss Teen USA when she was 15, and won a “date” with Fabian. Mom and Fabian drove through Los Angeles on their ‘date’, while Fabian’s publicist, Howard Brandy, who doubtless concocted the whole publicity stunt for Fabian, rode in the car with my Grandparents, following Mom and Fabian on their date. After all, she was only 15.

Fast forward an 40 years, and I’m in L.A., and working for Rose Einstein, a brilliant woman and now a dear friend, who just happens to be married to Howard Brandy. That Christmas, 1999, Mom and Howard were reunited at the Variety Christmas party. It was surreal.

Howard Brandy was a wonderfully warm and kind man, with a brush of white hair, and impossibly blue eyes set atop the peaks of perpetually laughing cheeks. To know him was to love him, and now we’ve lost him.

When I met Howard and told him about Damages, he was wildly enthusiastic and encouraging. “Bronsie, the thing about Hollywood is that you come here with a dream and before you know it, it takes on a life of its own, and all you can do is just hold on and ride it for all it’s worth,” he said. I’ll never forget that.

Howard was endlessly industrious, and curious to learn about anything he could – anything that made him a better father, husband, publicist, and service to those he loved – and it was plain that he was genuinely having a lot of fun meeting the challenge.

The last time I spoke with Howard was just a couple of months after Sam and I were married last year. They had attended the wedding. He called just to say hello, as he often would, and said that he wanted to take us to dinner at Dan Tana’s. We couldn’t make our schedules work, and so we resolved to check back in some time later and try again.

We never made that dinner. It’s one helluva lesson to learn: making the best of the day, making the important dinners, being in touch with those whom you love and who love you back. It just figures. A character like Howard always left you wanting more. Not even another 79 years would have been enough, for Howard or for us. We’ll catch you on the flip side, Howard, and we’ll be better about keeping an eye on Rose and Rebecca. Rest, dear friend. You are sorely missed.

A memorial service will be held Friday at Hillside Memorial in Los Angeles. In lieu of flowers, the family asks that donations be made to the Motion Picture & Television Fund Foundation in Los Angeles.

3 Responses to “We’ve Lost Howard Brandy”


  1. Monday, June 23, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Thank you, Son,for this lovely remembrance of the man who remains the epitome of gentility and class. I will always love him and will always wish that I could have made him my #7. My forever-kudos to Rose…she deserved him more than I did anyway.
    Mom

  2. Monday, June 23, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    May his soul rest in peace.
    I love the way you’ve stated and go about writing this aarticle.

  3. Friday, July 25, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Funnily enough, me my aunt and uncle met Howard at an E! entertainment party in Summer of ’05. He invited us for dinner to Dan Tana’s. I remeber him as a friendly and witty man, who talked fondly of his wife and children.

    He told me a story of when he remebered Drew Barrymore as a baby, her mother used to change her diapers on the bar of Dan Tana’s and how George Clooney went to Dan Tana’s every so often for a drink or two! – He insisted that me and my aunt should try the ice cream there.. So we did and we both only got through half of our ice cream..to be honest it wasn’t the nicest ice cream I’ve had! I like his enthusiasm.

    He will be fondly missed.


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 528,344

