12
Jun
08

I’m Breaking Up with My Car

I love cars. I’ve had about 20 of them, so this isn’t an easy break up, but premium gas in Los Angeles has hit $5.00 a gallon, plus places at around $4.75, and regular unleaded shows at $4.60.

From what I’ve read, this is the beginning of the end of the oil age, and the US will finally pay the same price for gas that they do in Europe, which would put it around $9.00 a gallon. Nonetheless, Angelenos are still driving with a vengeance. A woman alone in her Escalade blew my doors off on the freeway just this morning, and I was going 70. Some punk flying solo in a Z4 crossed illegally into the car pool lane to pass the static traffic I was in so that he could cut to the front. It feels like the last hurrah. To see more than one person in a car in Los Angeles is really not the norm, not even in the car pool (HOV) lane.

Angelenos are more car-obsessed than any society in the country, as evidenced by the L.A. Auto Show being the most widely attended auto show in the world. Our days are numbered. Mine are really numbered. I’m breaking up with my car. “Car” as in the thing I choose as an stylistic extension of who I am, instead of mere transportation. After poring over Mini Coopers vs. Yarises, just not seeing myself driving a Yaris, and trying to figure out what’s really important, I’ve resolved to stay committed to the Smart I’ve ordered, which is due in about 90 days. Sam preordered his yesterday, and it’s expected early next year.

Hybridcenter.org shows at least 18 new hybrids being released before 2011, so soon enough, there will be more hybrid options. Maybe there will be a hybrid Mini Cooper by then. 🙂

5 Responses to “I’m Breaking Up with My Car”


  1. 1 Anthony
    Thursday, June 12, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Good for you Bronson. We love the Smart car and almost brought one home from Spain 5 years ago when we were there. We’re waiting for the Tesla or my friends new electric car which looks totally awesome (Fisker motors)

    Let me know when you get your Smart.

    Anthony

  2. Thursday, June 12, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    There is a Mercedes dealership down the street from work that sells Smarts. It’s always eccentric rich older white dudes driving them. Maybe it has a cooler image in L.A.?

  3. Thursday, June 12, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Maybe saving money is how they got rich.
    Maybe buying quirky little cars is eccentric.
    Maybe they’re using them as golf carts.
    All I know is they’re getting better mileage than I am, for now. 😉

  4. Friday, June 13, 2008 at 10:17 am

    For the record, I’ll never think of you as a quirky, eccentric little old man. 🙂 Very proud of your choice. I think it’s the right move. And leaves us more money for things like trips to Ibiza… a spa & deck… the college tuition fund… and more Iberico cheese and good wine.

  5. Monday, June 16, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    I think this is a huge opportunity for Americans. Just like the internet spurred a huge economic expansion in the nineties, investment in new energy may do the same thing when the Democrats take back the White House.

    Just like “It’s the economy, stupid.” was the sound-byte of the ’92 election, “It’s the oil, stupid.” should be the catch-phrase for this election.

    I just heard McCain say today the U.S. needs to lift the ban on offshore drilling. I can envision all those islands in southwest Florida; Captiva, Sanibel and Marco Island getting ruined by oil pollution if that happens.

    We don’t need more oil. We need something else and we’ve known this for a very long time. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 523,311

