04
Jun
08

The Long Blondes at the Troubadour

Lisa hooked up the VIP seating, and Sam sacrificed a few hours of sleep on a weeknight for us to go see The Long Blondes‘ last U.S. show at the legendary Troubadour last night. There was nothing for me to do but be grateful, and I am.

The Long Blondes are a 5-piece English indie rock band from Sheffield. I fell in love with them after seeing them “put on the dog” in the video for Guilt, a song about an infidelity, and the singer’s unambiguous choice – “and guilt has nothing, nothing to do with it.”

The band is tight. The songs are catchy, even though we didn’t know most of the lyrics. The entire band is sexy, and so is the sound. It recalled early Siouxsie for Lisa and me, without being retro. Sam was bobbing and moving, which was a good sign. I love to see him get into music – again, it’s about watching musicians and music people in their element, listening to music. They just do it differently, more thoroughly, more knowledgeably.

“I just wish this band was goth,” Lisa said, “because they’re really good, and you’re either good or you’re goth. There’s nobody who’s goth who’s good.” A bit of a mind-bender, and I understood, but I wouldn’t change a thing.

Glam-as-can-be front-woman Kate Jackson is my new girlcrush. Lithe limbs emerging from a slinky teal dress prompted wows from all of us. “Having a lead who’s hot as hell is half the battle,” I remarked. “About 60%,” added Lisa. And then there’s the powerful voice, which rang like a bell as she slithered and pranced on stage, totally working it; a stark contrast to the opener. I also recognized Weekend Without Makeup and Century. Great tracks.

The show was captivating, at least for me because I’m obsessed with this band, and in spite of the fact that we’re not that familiar with the new Couples album. Mad love to Sam and Lisa for making it a great night. I love you guys… and guilt has nothing to do with it.

GUILT

you know what it’s like
this happens to everyone one or twice

you were driving off in a taxi
leaning out the window and shouting your number
but i got me, i got away by the skin of my teeth that time
and you were telling me; you were dancing close to me
and you were telling me you had an idea

but don’t say i shouldn’t worry ‘til the morning ‘cause i’m worrying now
i got a boy and we’ve been together you see
before i knew you
before you knew me

now i’ve made my choice
and i’m sticking to it
guilt has nothing, nothing to do with it
guilt has nothing, nothing to do with it
guilt has nothing to do with it

we were driving off in a taxi
you were looking out the window
and i was looking down at the floor
there’s nothing to say anymore
we both know why we’re here
and now you tell me
you’ve got me in your room
and now you’re telling me you want this to work

but don’t say i shouldn’t worry ‘til the morning ‘cause i’m worrying now
i got a boy and we’ve been together you see
before i knew you
before you knew me

now i’ve made my choice
and i’m sticking to it
and guilt has nothing, nothing to do with it
guilt has nothing, nothing to do with it
guilt has nothing to do with it

so tell me when you’re out next
so i don’t go out too
then make a fool of myself again
so tell me when you’re out next
so i don’t go out too
then make a fool of myself again

i’ve made my choice
and i’m sticking to it
and this has nothing to do with it
i’ve made my bed i’m gunna lie in it
and guilt has nothing

i got a boy and we’ve been together you see
before i knew you
before you knew me

now i’ve made my choice
and i’m sticking to it
and guilt has nothing, nothing to do with it
guilt has nothing, nothing to do with it
guilt has nothing, nothing to do with it
guilt has nothing, nothing to do with it
guilt has nothing to do with it

you know what it’s like
this happens to everyone one or twice

1 Response to “The Long Blondes at the Troubadour”


  1. 1 Conny
    Friday, June 6, 2008 at 10:10 am

    The review makes me want to hear them! Glad that you all had the chance to sample such good stuff.Hope you go to more shows so that I can read the reviews.
    cvd


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 523,307

