09
May
08

You can see into the future

It’s easy to see what will end any relationship, be it romantic or platonic. You need only pay attention. It’s usually there, in plain sight. It might be addiction, a wandering eye, or a hot temper. It might be anything. The point is that you will know very early on what it is, and you don’t even have to speak its name. The problem is, you just don’t know when that thing will end it.

I have found this to be applicable to my friends and loves, absolutely, and I can’t recall a time when it was wrong.

My friend Chad said, “My cock is my fate,” and it was. I knew Gerardo was a crochety old man on the inside, and I grew to resent him for it. I always knew what it would be with Joe, and I loved him anyway, but the inevitable still came to pass.

With Sam, it’s death, not necessarily his, and not necessarily AIDS. In fact it’s not wishful thinking when I say that I very clearly see our aged faces looking out over our ranch in Big Sky. I see our wrinkled hands clutched. I’ve known that from the start. Only death will part us, and even then, not for long.

3 Responses to “You can see into the future”


  1. Friday, May 9, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Funny. That’s the way I feel aboout you.
    Is there a bunkhouse on Blue Sky?
    Mom

  2. Friday, May 9, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    For you, darlin’, always.

  3. Monday, May 12, 2008 at 11:20 am

    I see a ranch in Big Sky, with blue skies and fresh air, on a piece of land big enough so that we don’t see or hear anything except for the sounds of nature. “Page Ranch?”


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 527,165

