29
Apr
08

What the Miley Cyrus Debacle Says About America

I really didn’t want to do a Miley Cyrus post, but I can’t tolerate all of this bullshit coughed up by checked-out parents suddenly concerned about Miley’s back and ready to stitch a scarlet A to someone’s chest.

I read some dreck today that says that Disney is turning the US into a “Nation of Whores. Good grief. “But she’s a role model for little girls,” I’ve heard some people say. Well, if your kid is mindlessly following the cues of a fellow child pretending to be a fictional character designed by a corporation to be a vehicle to propel ad sales, then something is desperately wrong in your home.

Furthermore, not a peep has been said about the volume of leg she’s showing in photos from the same session, or that she’s shown plenty of back on the red carpet.

Far too many Americans will go to any lengths to sidestep responsibility for anything, and that includes their children. Kids will emulate what you expose them to, so if they’re being babysat by the sticky, sweet, sexy, sexed-up, consumerific world of television – unsupervised and misguided – don’t be surprised when they emulate what they see.

If your daughter makes herself up to look 15 and she’s 10, it’s trouble that you, the parent, have created, because you haven’t given her the tools to make responsible, age-appropriate choices, out of a personal sense of integrity, not out of fear of parental retribution.

I know this and I don’t even have kids.

My Mother dissolved every illusion I witnessed as a kid. (One of the many reasons I capitalize ‘Mother’ out of a sense of respect.) She told me very early on where babies come from and demystified it. She explained exactly how Hollywood turns an actor into a vampire, and how the guy he just sucked the blood out of has since gone home to his family in Burbank. I knew all of the four-letter words, and learned that being powerful, the words must be used responsibly, and in full knowledge of the reflection they are on their speaker. I learned that guns are bad news, saw exactly what they do to someone (courtesy of movies), and knew full well that pointing one at someone else can come to tragedy.

She wasn’t perfect, by any stretch of the imagination, but she empowered me with choice rather than stupefy me with edict. She taught me, by example, to take responsibility.

Kids consume information like a raging fire, that’s always hungry for fuel. You decide what they consume, not society, not Billy Ray, not Miley, not Annie, not a magazine, and certainly not Disney. You do.

4 Responses to “What the Miley Cyrus Debacle Says About America”


  1. Tuesday, April 29, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Thank you. You are so right. I posted on this not as precise as yours but I agree.

  2. 2 Rod
    Tuesday, April 29, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Well said Bronson. This is much ado about nothing in my book. There are teenage girls who dress and pose in their myspace profiles who reveal much more. If she were in just a towel laying on her back with her legs spread open, then that would be cause for outrage. But this is just more of the same drivel that “conservative” and “family value” groups love to grab onto so they can promote their agenda.

  3. 3 MrsWaltz
    Tuesday, April 29, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Powerfully spoken. You can certainly-the-fuck watch my goats I mean kids anytime 🙂

  4. Tuesday, April 29, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    My friend Lesley says, “Oh, she’s just being Miley.” 😉


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 527,076

