22
Apr
08

Review: Lily Allen’s New Tracks

I was late to the game on the first Lily Allen releases, but not these. The first were sexy, tawdry, cheeky pop tunes that (straight) men over 30 shouldn’t admit to loving, but I dare them to resist. She had me at Smile, and for being generally bad arse, but this year a sadder but wiser Lily has reemerged turning her cheek and whip tongue on the world and on herself. Hey, it’s been a tough year, but it’s made her art better. Two tracks from her forthcoming album on Capitol are featured on her myspace page. Here’s the breakdown.

“I’ll take my clothes off and it will be shameless, ’cause everyone knows that’s how you get famous.”

I Don’t Know is the song the world (or at very least, America) needs in the Swarovski-encrusted dusk of comfort spending and fame binging, just before an uncertain dawn. It’s great to hear that even a woman this self-assured wonders if she’s being duped now and then.

I Could Say is a girl turning over a new leaf; finding that the sun shines a little more clearly after the worst rain has washed that chip off her shoulder. It contains some of the personal bite of her last releases, but not just for spite; for putting things in their place before moving on.

Lily Allen wins me for three or four minutes every time with her amazingly simple but brilliant writing. I always wonder how nobody has put things so plainly and so poetically before. She won me for good because she resonates with honest emotion which make me really care about what happens with her next. XOXOXOXO

P.S. I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before Lily is in films. There’s a great little role for her in Damages.

2 Responses to “Review: Lily Allen’s New Tracks”


  1. Tuesday, April 22, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    The lady is a winner. Because of you, I listened to her and fell under the spell of this Tinker Bell/Mae West/Carol Bayer Sager. And…she’d be great in Damages.
    Conny


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 523,311

