13
Apr
08

The Lovesick Questions: India Brooks

1. If you could have sex with anyone from all of history, just once, whom would it be?

Marlon Brando

2. What is your most memorable romantic moment?

When my Australian boy friend took me on a balloon ride for my birthday

3. About what are you most passionate?

Travel

4. What have you learned about love?

For most, it is very conditional; for me, not so much

5. What’s in your night stand?

TV remotes, dog collars, jewelry (I have two Dalmatians.)

India Brooks is a 41-year-old transgendered woman whom I met in 1986, in her home state of Florida… and specifically, Gainesville. We met at the University Club when we were both young men; she grew up far more beautifully. We were reunited in Bora Bora just last month, a reunion that was one of the highlights of the trip. On the trip, she told me an amazing story about the first time she was in drag. She was enrolled at a beauty school at the age of 17, and her instructor put her in a wig and makeup.

“When my instructor put me in Drag, for the first time in my life, I saw who I really was on the inside staring back at me. The person that I pretended to be, the person that my parents and society forced upon me had melted away. I had been liberated, and came out of the closet with a bang. Honey, I didn’t just walk out. I blew the doors off. ”

India is one of the most naturally fearless people I’ve ever known, was the first one in the water to swim with the sharks in Bora Bora, and probably the last one out. She has traveled all over the world, modeling and acting, and lived in New York for a few years. Now she calls Florida home once again. Sam and I are honored to count her among our most beloved friends.

2 Responses to “The Lovesick Questions: India Brooks”


  1. 1 Sam Page
    Monday, April 14, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    India is one of the most beautiful women (inside and out) that I’ve had the honor of calling “friend.” I am amazed at her innocence of spirit and the carefree joy with which she lives her life.

  2. 2 jen
    Saturday, August 23, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Thanks for posting this! I was watching D-List and yelled at my husband “that’s India!”
    I, too, met India in Gainesville (92-99 was when I was there) and she was always the life of the party for sure!
    Not only that but she’s BEAUTIFUL. Not fair!
    I wonder if UC is still there?
    Great seeing her and glad to hear she is back here in sunny Florida 🙂
    Thanks for the interview and pics!

    jen


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 520,879

