07
Apr
08

Keep an Uncluttered Desktop

1. At work, I save images, PDFs, kudos and other documents that support my resume or portfolio into a folder called “BRONSON” which I periodically burn to a disc and take home, or transfer to my iDisc. At home, skip to step 2.

2. Put a photo of a really hot guy (or girl) up as your desktop; one you won’t want to cover up.

3. Then I have created a DESKTOP folder alias that contains all of the things I would normally leave on my desktop. (If I were really good, I’d just go to the disc and start from the folders there. Baby steps.)

A great practice, for sure, but if I’m not careful I can regress to clutterdom. So here’s how I control that:

4. Increase the size of the folder icons on the desktop to maximum. This way, the desktop fills up faster and forces me to put stuff away, leaving more space for my hot desktop.

3 Responses to “Keep an Uncluttered Desktop”


  1. 1 anxious lesbian
    Monday, April 7, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    god, i hate you. so handsome, so intelligent, so organized… is there anything you can’t do?

  2. Monday, April 7, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    I have a physical folder called “Conny’s Copies” In this I put daily notes that I take of things I’m doing, addresses, phone numbers, names and thoughts. I always have a notebook beside me at work to on which to jot down these things. I date the notebooks. I found it best to use thin notebooks to start. Now, I use a 5 subject notebook and use only one side of the page so that the writing doesn’t show through and confuse me! Each page is dated. You have no idea how many times these clips of info have saved my ass or someone else’s! Then, once a month or so…on a slow day…I add the addresses, phone #s and notes to my contacts at work or at home onto my PC and Mac. Any other random info I add to the appropriate document folders. They are divided by topic and year.
    This started back when I was a deputy in Florida. CYA…the phrase of the day!
    Mom

  3. 3 Sam
    Tuesday, April 8, 2008 at 3:39 am

    I started doing this last week when you first mentioned it and it has revolutionized my desktop. Tres helpful.


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 520,879

