14
Mar
08

What 40 Looks Like: On A Meal Plan

silhouette1.jpg

  2005 2008
Weight:
185 lbs. 201 lbs.
Body fat:
18% 12.1%
Fat weight:
32 lbs. 24 lbs.
Muscle weight: 143 lbs. 177 lbs.
     

I still have the skinny arms that have persisted since childhood, no matter how much training they receive. I have always been thick in the middle like my Dad, and so constant vacuums and core training are in order. When I get fat, I get fat in the middle and in the face and look like a marshmallow with stick limbs.

Just the same, I’m on the threshold of 40 and, with the help and guidance of my husband, Sam, this is what I’ve achieved, and this is what it looks like – for me. Now all I have to do is keep it. Here’s one way I will do that.Sam put me on a zig-zag meal plan, which has made as much of a difference as exercise. It wasn’t easy to stick to, because I work in an office where vendors constantly ply us with food and sweets. My first week there I was greeted by a chocolate fountain. Ugh.

When I crave sweets, I drink a Diet Coke, and if the craving persists, I drink a glass of cold water after it, which gives my tastebuds the sweetness and my stomach the fullness. That usually takes the edge off. As I wean off of sugar, the cravings are fewer and farther between. Like Tallulah Bankhead said, sugar is a drug and “That stuff will kill you.” I even said that to a Girl Scout once when she tried to sell me some cookies. Not my best day, but maybe I made her think.

When it’s not time for a meal yet, I have hot tea with Splenda, and my appetite is curbed. The times I’ve slipped off and snarfed down a Heath bar, I haven’t beat myself up about it; instead I think about what’s going on, and usually it’s stress eating.

I’ve had to make changes in my schedule to accommodate the meal plan, but I do it, because if I don’t make the time and plan, I’ll make substitutions that seem reasonable in my mind, but just aren’t part of the plan.

If we could all eat whatever the hell we wanted, we wouldn’t have obesity, or diabetes, or meal plans. Health and fitness come easily for some, but for the rest of us, it takes discipline, and a meal plan.

5 Responses to “What 40 Looks Like: On A Meal Plan”


  1. Friday, March 14, 2008 at 8:22 am

    I swore off splenda and diet coke a few weeks ago, and I’ve actually lost weight. It was only really hard the first week. (Though I still allow myself a fountain diet coke on Saturdays.)

    p.s. Love the new theme

  2. Friday, March 14, 2008 at 9:22 am

    Advice from actor Jerry O’Connell, who’s lost and gained weight over the years, might bear repeating.

  3. 4 Balma
    Friday, March 14, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Please, are you kidding me? You don’t know from skinny arms.

  4. Saturday, March 15, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    You are hot, 40 is just a meaningless number.


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 527,076

