09
Mar
08

Pedophilia may have physical causes.

nfsoffice.jpg<< Just weeks, or even days, before.

There came a point in my post-molestation experience a few years ago, while the man (for the record, a conservative Republican) was being prosecuted, where I was faring much better than my Mom. I had found a place of relative resolve; she was still as mad as hell. It was hearing the man deny the facts, categorically, repeatedly, and convincingly (to most of our home town) that was particularly maddening.

When I was in therapy, I learned that pedophiles generally maintain their innocence, even after conviction and during incarceration, but it was my molester’s calm resolve that made me really understand this and helped me to let my anger go.

Under the inconceivable pressure of lengthy investigation, interrogation, and incarceration, and the mountains of evidence that were piling up right in front of him, he really believed he hadn’t done anything wrong. It was beyond denial, which was constant. He would have ‘had to have been crazy’ to maintain his innocence; really, truly unwell, and not just a dirty old man.

“He has no idea, or he has it so compartmentalized that he practically has no idea,” I told her, “as sick as he is, he has always just done the best with what he has been given.” After a little time to digest that idea, it helped my Mom to find her way out of her anger.

Of course, this wasn’t excusing the behavior, nor was I trying to be noble or forgiving; it just seemed so obvious. He’s gotta really believe it. Nobody’s this good an actor.

Seems I had the right idea.

Research completed in late 2007 by a Yale University team, and published in the Journal of Psychiatric Research, suggests pedophilia may have physical causes.

pedophilebrain.jpgPedophiles have considerably less brain white matter than people not sexually attracted to children, says the research released Wednesday from the Toronto-based Centre for Addiction and Mental Health.

The researchers theorize pedophilia is the result of a “partial disconnection within that (white matter) network.””The most straightforward explanation of the present result is that low white matter volumes increase the risk of developing pedophilia.” The red and orange areas in the image, above left, indicate the areas of decreased white matter in a pedophile’s brain.

They add that white matter abnormalities have already been implicated in other psychiatric illnesses, including bipolar disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder and schizophrenia.

http://www.sciencedaily.com­ /releases/2007/11/071128092109.htm
or email me at lovesickbilly@mac.com

5 Responses to “Pedophilia may have physical causes.”


  1. 1 defectiverubikscube
    Monday, March 10, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    FWIW, my sister denied for many years what she’d done to me. What sucked was that everyone .. well if they didn’t take her side, they gave her the benefit of the doubt. So after making the difficult decision to speak up, it fell flat.

    Six years later she came forward to say my father had done the same thing to her. He denied everything. She called me in tears when I was 18, to grouse about the whole thing. She said “Nobody believes me. Do you even know what that feels like?”

    Icily, I said “Yes, as a matter of fact, I do, sweetie.” and hung up the phone.

    She called back and said “Oh my god. I’m so sorry.”

    But eh, it’d be another 7 or 8 years before we talked again and finally patched things up…

  2. Tuesday, March 11, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Rubikscube, thanks for the comment. What a story. There are as many different permutations of a molestation scenario as there are perpetrators, unfortunately. I commend you, and the other brave readers who have shared their stories with me in the comments, and via email. Awareness is more than half the battle. BTW, you don’t sound so defective to me.

  3. 3 dexx36
    Sunday, September 7, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I to was molested by my step father and the reprocussions that it had created has not been a pretty picture. For the most part I function in society. I have been labeled hypo-manic depressive with a slight personality disorder…..I wonder why. My mother denied the abuse and for that she has been forever cut out of my life. The next time that I want to see them both is at their funerals. It has been many years and the hate and anger will not go away and it affects me on a daily basis. Do you have any advice? The experience has only led to worse things in my life (being raped 2 times) due to all the drinking to kill the pain. I have since stopped that all together….I really don’t want to go for a third time. I have tried counseling and well, it has gotten me nowhere.


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 523,311

