15
Feb
08

Scientology vs. Anonymous: This Time It’s Impersonal

This has nothing to do with love or sex, but it’s so interesting, I couldn’t resist.

This morning, a colleague pointed out the fresh war between Anonymous and the Church of Scientology – and very specifically, not Scientology itself.

Click the links above for the distinction.

It all started with this leaked video, and the other three quarters that follow, posted on YouTube. It continues with Anonymous’ many eloquent declarations of war, and continues on and on… but most thrillingly with this ominous riposte from a member, or members, of the church. If this is the trailer, I’m dying to see the film.

I’m no SP or even a Potential Trouble Source (PTS). I’m neither a fan nor an enemy of Scientology, merely a respectful onlooker. Unitarian Universalism is the closest I’ve found to something that I’d call “my church”, and that’s really more of a safe meeting place for a collective of believers of every stripe, including Scientologists. As far as this war goes, I’m just thrilled to watch it unfold, because it could be a nail-biter.

Of course, there’s a little part of me that suspects this is all a LonelyGirl15-esqe publicity stunt, by either some kids seeking their 15 minutes or by Scientology seeking to display some muscle, and if that’s what it boils down to, it’s the best one yet. That cynicism kinda goes with living in Hollywood.

Extra large Diet Coke and popcorn, please.

4 Responses to “Scientology vs. Anonymous: This Time It’s Impersonal”


  1. Friday, February 15, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Mike Harmon

  2. 2 Silkeyn
    Tuesday, April 1, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Pfft…Anonymous is nothing more than a band of internet troublemakers.


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 528,344

