05
Feb
08

Taxes: Another Reason Domestic Partnership Isn’t Enough

When I get my W-2 this year, it will look like I made more money than I actually did. In fact, my total compensation will be my salary plus the amount my company pays for Sam‘s medical coverage – since he’s my Domestic Partner. It will be considered additional income that I made, and we will pay taxes on that additional amount.

Were I heterosexual, the cost of my spouse’s and/or children’s coverage is not considered additional income, and therefore we wouldn’t pay additional taxes on it.

I’m grateful for Sam’s coverage, and I probably shouldn’t complain, but there’s a little part of me that thinks that’s the position THEY’d like me to have: quiet acceptance. Well, they’ll get it, for now, but just when you think you are respected equally… cue the double standard loophole.

Fortunately for me, the ‘additional income’ doesn’t push me over $160K and into the next, higher tax bracket, increasing my tax by 5%. Someone, somewhere is taking that bullet; luckily it’s not us.

Just another reason Domestic Partnership isn’t equal treatment; just another reason Civil Unions might not be enough. Just another thing we have to watch out for.

*ADDENDUM: The W-2 came today, an Sam’s coverage totaled $1,900 in additional ‘income’.

9 Responses to “Taxes: Another Reason Domestic Partnership Isn’t Enough”


  1. Tuesday, February 5, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    I don’t plan on dying until I see you two, and all other domestic partners, treated like they should be. I know that I am preaching to the choir but…the government should punish those people who fight and kill each other; not those people who love each other. Do they have any idea what a boost to the National Economy there would be…for many years to come…just from the extra celebrations of marriage? The list goes on and on. Do they not know how many more children would be adopted? How many less uphappy souls headed in a downward spiral because these souls would know that they, indeed, count and are valuable and are allowed to be happy like heterosexual partners/marrieds? Pride goeth before a fall. I would love, just once, to run out of dragons to slay. But I guess that would be on the day I die!

  2. Tuesday, February 5, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Well, Mom, if it keeps you here with us indefinitely, I’m voting for a Constitutional amendment to define marriage as between a man and a woman… but that’s certainly the only reason to do it.

  3. 3 Jonathan
    Tuesday, February 5, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    I don’t understand why you are equivocating. “Civil Unions might not be enough”?? Hell, no, they are not enough. It’s the back of the bus, Bronson. A second-class status.

    “I probably shouldn’t complain.” You’re kidding, right? Explain to me why you shouldn’t complain, because I don’t get it.

    And as for all of the politicians that we supposedly count as our friends, who insist that they want equal rights for same sex couples, but refuse to support gay “marriage”–screw them! Until it’s considered a marriage, it is not equal!

  4. Tuesday, February 5, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    I’ll admit, I’ve never been one to beat my chest over marriage. I have a different point of view, one that would level the field. ALL marriages should be civil unions, equal under the law, like any contract, and the religious dressing you put on them is your own business. That’s what Sam and I did. I say ‘I shouldn’t complain’ because for me to get Sam’s medical insurance covered, I simply entered his name in a field on my computer screen. No affidavits, no waiting period. Easy as can be, and an enormous benefit, even if we do pay tax for it. Many companies – heck, most companies – don’t make any provision at all for domestic partners. It’s not de rigueur, and I’m incredibly grateful for it. That coverage isn’t exactly crumbs from the table. You’re not as forgiving as I am with politicians, clearly, and you’re right, none of them have come out of the closet about supporting us. I appreciate your wrath, certainly, however, I believe that a victory on this field is going to be won with a Trojan Horse, not by storming the gate.

  5. 5 Jonathan
    Tuesday, February 5, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    mmmmm, Trojans.
    Not to beat this thing to death, but “marriage” is really no longer simply a religious institution, but a legal one, as well. We’re entitled to it.
    As for the politicians–you’re right. They sicken me. I voted for Hill only because she seemed like the lesser evil.

  6. 6 jos76
    Wednesday, February 6, 2008 at 5:02 am

    As a legally married gay man in Massachusetts, I have to agree with you completely. Most politicians want to say, “We will leave it up to the states to decide.” That’s great and all and my partner and I have taken advantage of that in Massachusetts, but it doesn’t really amount to much more than recognition when it is not backed up federally. Obama talks about a STRONG form of civil unions, which means that it would be recognized federally. The other candidates that talk about leaving it to the states disregard all that comes from federal recognition.

    Jos76
    http://www.jos76.wordpress.com

  7. Sunday, February 10, 2008 at 11:54 am

    I live in Kansas so I am totally screwed… One thing you guys in CA and MA might consider pushing for is a state level tax credit for the difference in Federal tax you pay versus a straight couple… just a thought.

  8. 8 1jmac
    Wednesday, February 13, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    I know how you feel, I have an additional $5986.50 to pay taxes on for my domestic partner benefits. At least in Oregon we don’t have to pay state taxes on that amount also. I periodically send letters to my senator telling him that I would much rather have that money to spend in our local economy.


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 523,307

