12
Jan
08

Britney Spears & the Law of Attraction

The “Law of Attraction” principle posits that people’s feelings and thoughts attract real events in the world into their lives; from the workings of the cosmos to interactions among individuals in their physical, emotional, and professional affairs. – Wikipedia

My loneliness is killing me/ I must confess, I still believe/ When I’m not with you I lose my mind/ Give me a sign/ Hit me baby one more time/I don’t know how to live without your love/ I was born to make you happy/ You drive me crazy/ I just cant sleep/ I’m so excited, I’m in too deep/ Ohh…crazy, but it feels alright/ Baby, thinkin of you keeps me up all night/ You see my problem is this/ I’m dreaming away/ Wishing that heroes, they truly exist/ I cry, watching the days/ Can’t you see I’m a fool in so many ways/ But to lose all my senses/ That is just so typically me/ Baby, oh/ Oops!…I did it again/ Im a slave for you/ I cannot hold it/ I cannot control it/ Im a slave for you/ I wont deny it/ I’m not trying to hide it/ I need to make mistakes just to learn who I am/ And I don’t wanna be so damn protected/ There must be another way/ Cause I believe in taking chances/ But who am I to say/ What a girl is to do/ God, I need some answers/ There’s no escape/ I can’t wait/ I need a hit/ Baby, give me it/ You’re dangerous/ I’m lovin’ it/ Too high/ Can’t come down/ Losing my head/ Spinning ‘round and ‘round/ Do you feel me now/ And everytime I try to fly, I fall / Without my wings, I feel so small / I guess I need you, baby/ And everytime I see you in my dreams/ I see your face, you’re haunting me/ I guess I need you, baby/ I may have made it rain/ Please forgive me/ My weakness caused you pain/ And this song’s my sorry

I have seen The Secret about a dozen times or so, I’ve witnessed the power of manifestation from thought in my own life many, many times, and I believe we all have the power to manifest our destinies – and that includes Britney Spears.

Singing lyrics like these, and with millions of copies of the recordings being sold and played, essentially amplifying these thoughts millions of times over, should we be surprised when Brit manifests the life that we see unfolding in the tabloids? It’s not that she is writing the songs to reflect or express what she’s feeling, personally. She’s credited with writing only 17 of the 73 songs on five albums, and just when you think that Blackout might be the one she wrote the most of, given her divorce and the fact that the tracks are a series of screw yous to Kevin Federline, think again. She co-wrote Ooh, Ooh Baby and Freakshow – two of the fluffiest tracks on the album – so it’s not exactly her catharsis.

Artists create art based on their feelings and experiences, and even as part of a team of writers, Britney is no exception. But even if she hadn’t written a word of any of her songs, she has chosen them, and she is at very least singing, hundreds of times, lyrics that make very clear statements and have relevance to her life. Say nothing of the millions of little girls who know all of the lyrics by heart.

Britney Spears has more money than she’ll ever be able to spend. (Of course, Max Martin has more, because he did the writing) But if Britney is to continue in this industry, doing something she loves, and at which she is clearly very good, perhaps a more positive, or at least neutral, approach is in order. Hire Alanis Morrisette to write your stuff, or keep the writers and watch The Secret and What the Bleep Do We Know with them.

I freaking love this girl, and just like most of the world, I really truly don’t want to see her blow it.

.
3 Responses to “Britney Spears & the Law of Attraction”


  1. 1 Conny
    Saturday, January 12, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    What I find to be the most appalling thing surrounding Ms. Spears is that
    the people surrounding Ms. Spears do not appear to give a damn about her.
    If they do, they need to employ better methods in getting through to her
    the advantages of certain behavior modifications that would guarantee her
    a longer run. People who say that they have tried to help her, tried to get
    through to her neglect to finish the statement with “and I failed. I must
    find another way.” I hope that there is the one brave someone who will chance
    that Ms. Spears may become angry with them and cut them off from “the well”
    until he/she breaks through. Someone might start by letting her know that she
    is truly loved and that the someone does not want to benefit in some materialistic
    way for standing beside her and for giving her some decent help and advice.
    I don’t believe that she is a stupid woman. I do believe that, given a time
    of sobriety, she will come to the realization that she is worth more than to have
    people mindlessly fawning over her for her favor and favors. She is worth having
    someone who is not easily bought standing with her as she finds her way back
    to being the talented and powerful, positive mother and role model that could
    be the true Britney Spears.


Leave a Reply

Billy’s Sorted Past

Technorati Authority

In you I find proof...

  • 520,706

